Follow ImgResidency on Twitter
Subscribe to the Match TODO newsletter. Reminders for important dates and events throughout the match process.
Site Sponsors:
www.ResidencyPlace.com - Customized Program Requirements
www.IMGResidency.com - IMG Match and Scramble Services

so many questions, so little time! anatolyk, HELP!

Residency Match, ECFMG, ERAS, NRMP.
Applications, interviews, residency programs, match strategies and post match scramble.

so many questions, so little time! anatolyk, HELP!

Postby ultraphony » Mon Sep 10, 2007 5:57 pm

Hey everyone,

I'm a freshly graduate FMG, i have 8wks USCE, usmle's scores in 90s,passed CS, got LoRs a couple from american attendatns, and one in derms (at med school), have no publications or research experience, looking to match this year.

What I'm aiming for on top of the list is : Dermatology, I'd kill to get that (would be putting it nicely!lol), so do you have any info on any of the following :

1- Fmg friendly derm programs (if any exists, even with the slightest chance).

2- What about int.med/dermatology combined, or ped./dermatology combined programs ? are those any good or worth sending to ?

3- I noticed in FREIDA that most derm programs required a PGY-1 before applying to derm, like in int.med or ped. or family p, or transitional yr. well, do u know if that applies to pathology too?
(ie. say i match into pathology this year, and try to switch next year's?)
is it applicable, or possible ?

4- Is it possible i match into "int. medicine" in general this year, then try to switch into derms the year that follows ?

5- What about programs NOT participating in ERAS, are those worth contacting for residency (derms, or int.med/derm) ?

6- Do u know of any dermatology research opportunity ?

7- WHAT IS "Transitional Year" ? and is it any good to get into derms later? and is it any easy for FMGs ?